Student Elections 2020-2021

ASLCC Student Government Elections

The ASLCCSG general elections are held during winter term of each academic year to select ASLCCSG representatives for the following academic year. This includes eight (8) senate seats and the executive team, President and Vice President. The President and Vice President must run as a ticket. All positions include a stipend and some form of credit reimbursement. Read below for qualifications for office, election details and rules, and for more information on getting involved with ASLCCSG.

Student Activity Fee Committee Elections

In 2016, the Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC) was formed to make the process of disbursement and allocation of the mandatory Student Activity Fee more equitable and student-involved. The purpose of the purpose of the fee is to support student-initiated programs. Student-initiated programs shall be defined as co-curricular programs, services, and/or organizations that are deemed by the Board of Education to be of value to one or more student communities of interest.

The membership of the Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC) consists of:

  • An elected student who will serve as an elected non-voting chair;
  • 4 at-large student representatives elected through the annual ASLCCSG elections process;
  • ASLCC Student Leadership Director who will serve as non-voting advisor;
  • 2 ASLCC Student Government selected representatives;
  • 2 student representatives selected by and from the "Unions"--APISU, BSU, GSA, MEChA, and NASA;
  • 2 student representatives selected from other fee-receiving groups;
  • 1 student representative selected by the Council of Clubs.

All voting seats on the SAFC will be held by students. The Committee shall meet at least once per term. The elections for the four (4) at-large student representatives and the SAFC Chairperson happen concurrently with the ASLCCSG General Election. Information on the ASLCCSG General Election can be found below.

Important Dates

  • March 23-April 17, 2020 -- Candidate applications open (link opens application form)
  • April 27-May 26, 2020 -- Campaigning open
  • May 27-29, 2020 -- Voting open
  • May 30, 2020 -- Announce election results

Elections Information for Candidates:

Elected Positions

Only students who meet the qualifications as outlined in the candidate orientation may be listed on the ballot for election. Write-in candidates must still meet the same qualifications in order to hold office. These positions are elected by student vote: 

ASLCC Student Government

  • President and Vice-President (must run on the same ticket)
  • Senators (8 at-large)

Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC)

  • SAFC Chair (non-voting position)
  • SAFC Student Representatives (4 at-large)

View ASLCCSG position descriptions.

View SAFC COPPS Policy outlining membership.

Qualifications for all Elected Positions

  • All candidates must be enrolled in class on the LCC main campus and have paid the student activity fee during the term they are a candidate for ASLCCSG office by the application deadline.
  • ASLCCSG Presidential candidates must have completed a minimum of one term with a cumulative GPA of 2.5 to be eligible to run for office.
  • Candidates for all other offices must be enrolled in class on the LCC main campus, have paid the student activity fee, and have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5.
  • All students elected to ASLCCSG office shall be required to enroll in class on the LCC main campus, complete at least six credit hours each term, and maintain a 2.5 term GPA. Credits recorded as audit or as "no pass" do not count as completed credits.
  • No member of ASLCCSG shall simultaneously hold more than one office under this Constitution; (No member can run for more than one office)
  • No member of ASLCCSG shall be in the same executive office for more than 2 consecutive years.

Election Rules

  • No person shall vote more than once in any one election.
  • The positions of President and Vice-president shall constitute one (1) ticket, and shall be filed and voted on jointly.
  • A minimum of one (1) week and a maximum of three (3) weeks shall be allowed for the campaigning. No campaigning shall occur before the candidates’ orientation.
  • All candidates for office, including write-in candidates, are bound by these election rules. It is the responsibility of the candidate to be familiar, and comply with these election rules. Failure to do so may be grounds for disqualification.
  • Violations of these by-laws by candidates may be grounds for disqualification of the candidate for that election. Violations of these by-laws by elections workers may be grounds for invalidation of election results and a new election may be called.
  • All complaints regarding the election process and voting procedure must be delivered, in writing, to the Elections Committee prior to the close of voting. The Elections Committee will review and decide on all complaints under the guidance of the ASLCC attorney.
  • If two (2) pairs of candidates run for positions of President and Vice-President, a majority vote shall decide the election. If three (3) or more pairs of candidates run for positions of President and Vice-president, a plurality vote shall decide the election.
  • If nine (9) or more students run for the eight (8) open Senator positions, a plurality vote shall decide the election.

For more information contact

D'Ante Carter
Student Engagement