Student Elections 2022-2023

Important Dates

  • April 1, 2023 - April 9, 2023 : Candidate applications open
  • April 17, 2023 deadline - Candidate orientation
  • April 17, 2023 - May 2, 2023 - Campaigning open
  • April 28, 2023 - Virtual Debates at times to be announced
  • May 8-10, 2023 - Voting open
  • May 12, 2023 - Election results announced

Student elections for Lane Student Government Association (Lane SGA) and Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC) are coming soon!

Lane Student Government Association Elections

The Lane SGA general elections includes eight senate seats and the executive team, President and Vice President. The President and Vice President must run as a ticket. All positions include a stipend and some form of credit reimbursement.

Student Activity Fee Committee Elections

SAFC helps to make the process of disbursement and allocation of the mandatory Student Activity Fee more equitable and student-involved. The purpose of the fee is to support student-initiated programs, defined as co-curricular programs, services, and/or organizations that are deemed by the Board of Education to be of value to one or more student communities of interest.

The membership of the Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC) consists of:

  • An elected student who will serve as an elected non-voting chair;
  • 4 at-large student representatives elected through the annual Lane SGA elections process;
  • Lane Student Government Association Leadership Director who will serve as non-voting advisor;
  • 2 Lane Student Government Association selected representatives;
  • 2 student representatives selected by and from the "Unions"--APISU, BSU, GSA, MEChA, and NASA;
  • 2 student representatives selected from other fee-receiving groups;
  • 1 student representative selected by the Council of Clubs.

All voting seats on the SAFC will be held by students. The Committee shall meet at least once per term. The elections for the four (4) at-large student representatives and the SAFC Chairperson happen concurrently with the Lane SGA General Election.

Elections information for Candidates

Elected Positions

Only students who meet the qualifications as outlined in the candidate orientation may be listed on the ballot for election. Write-in candidates must still meet the same qualifications in order to hold office. These positions are elected by student vote:

Lane Student Government Association

  • President and Vice-President (must run on the same ticket)
  • Senators (8 at-large)

Student Activity Fee Committee (SAFC)

  • SAFC Chair (non-voting position)
  • SAFC Student Representatives (4 at-large)

View ASLCCSG position descriptions.

View SAFC COPPS Policy outlining membership.

Qualifications for all Elected Positions

  • All candidates must be enrolled in class on the LCC main campus and have paid the student activity fee during the term they are a candidate for Lane SGA office by the application deadline.
  • Executive Seat: Campaign candidates must meet these eligible requirements in order to be a candidate: Executive Seat candidates must have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours within the previous 3 terms at LCC, with a cumulative GPA of 2.5 to be eligible to run for office., they must have and maintain good standing in academic progress standing (APS), they must have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher, and be paying the Student Activity Fee while attending LCC’s Main Campus. Candidates for President or Vice-President must have completed a minimum of 33% of their credits required towards completion of their degree or certificate program at LCC. Candidates for President or Vice-President must have completed at least two (2) terms of classes at the LCC main campus prior to applying for candidacy.
  • Senator Seat: Campaign candidates must meet these eligible requirements in order to be a candidate: Senator Seat candidates must have completed six (6) credits successfully before the term, they must have and maintain good standing in APS, they must have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher, and be paying the Student Activity Fee while attending LCC’s Main Campus.
  • All students elected to Lane SGA office shall be required to enroll in class on the LCC main campus, complete at least six credit hours each term at LCC, and maintain a 2.5 term GPA. Credits recorded as audit or as "no pass" do not count as completed credits.
  • No member of Lane SGA shall simultaneously hold more than one office under this Constitution; (No member can run for more than one office)
  • No member of Lane SGA shall be in the same executive office for more than 2 consecutive years.
  • All positions receive a stipend and/or some form of credit reimbursement (such as Talent Grants)*
  • *Restrictions apply to receiving and maintaining stipends and/or talent grants, based upon satisfactory academic progress and engagement.

Election Rules

  1. No person shall vote more than once in any one election.
  2. No campaigning shall occur before the candidates’ orientation (information session) or before the start date of the campaigning period.
  3. All candidates for office, including write-in candidates, are bound by these election rules.
  4. It is the responsibility of the candidate to be familiar and comply with these election rules and all sections of the constitution & by-laws. Failure to do so may be grounds for disqualification or a suspension period determined and implemented from the election’s committee.
  5. Violations of these by-laws by elections workers or campaign volunteers may be grounds for invalidation of election results and a new election may be called.
  6. All complaints regarding the student government election process and voting procedure must be emailed to the Elections Committee elections@lanecc.edu prior to the close of voting. The Elections Committee will review and decide on all complaints under the guidance of the Lane Student Government Association admin & advisor. Complaints regarding SAFC candidates or campaigns should be referred to the Administrative Specialist of Student Engagement carterd@lanecc.edu.
  7. Decisions by the Elections Committee regarding any Lane SGA complaints are final.
  8. Polling places: Several official polling stations will exist on campus but the main source will be accessed online via Titan Communities during voting days. This will be located within the Center Building Food Court & our online website.
  9. Campaigns and other candidate specific tables may not conduct voting.
  10. There will be no active campaigning permitted on the first floor of the Center building during voting days, or within 25 feet of the Center for Student Engagement (CEN 201) which is also a No Campaign Zone.
  11. Campaigning may take place no closer than 25 feet of any entrance to the Center building on voting days.
  12. All campaign material posted within 25 feet of any dedicated polling place shall be removed before the voting starts on the first day of elections.
  13. Electronic voting via Titan Communities shall be available for at least three (3) consecutive days.

Results and Ballot Counts

If nine (9) or more students run for the eight (8) open Senator positions, a plurality vote shall decide the election.

If nine (9) or more students run for the eight (8) open Senator positions, a minimum number of votes must be reached to be elected. The number needed is equal to .1% of the current Lane Student Government Association membership, rounding down.

If nine (9) or more students run for the eight (8) open Senator positions and at least two (2) candidates tie in the number of votes received, the Elections Committee will ask if any of the impacted candidates wish to concede. All impacted candidates must be present when the question is asked. If more than one (1) candidate is unwilling to concede, none of the impacted candidates will get the seat.

For more information contact

Carl Yeh

Dean of Student Engagement