Accreditation Standards

Accreditation Standards

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions in the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. The Commission establishes accreditation criteria and evaluation procedures that are used to review institutions of higher education in the region.

See the existing Accreditation Standards, which include these topic areas:

  • Mission, Core Themes, and Expectations 
  • Resources and Capacity
  • Planning and Implementation
  • Effectiveness and Improvement
  • Mission Fulfillment, Adaptability and Sustainability

The Commission is in the process of updating standards, requirements and procedures. For more information, see Standards Review, contact us or check back as these pages become revised in the near future.