Institutional Effectiveness Commission

Institutional Effectiveness Commission

The Institutional Effectiveness Commission engages the campus community in understanding of mission fulfillment and institutional indicators; assesses the effectiveness of the College’s planning, improvement, and assessment systems and structures; evaluates progress toward mission fulfillment; and provides information and recommendations to the campus and community.

The IEC accomplishes this work by reviewing and providing recommendations about sponsored workflows/initiatives in these areas:

  • Accreditation
  • Assessment
  • Data governance
  • Key performance indicators
  • Process improvement
  • Program effectiveness, management, and review
  • Other duties as assigned by the sponsor

The Institutional Effectiveness Commission is sponsored by the Provost and Executive Vice President, and the Chief Strategy and Planning Officer. Committee membership is composed of representatives from all areas of the college: faculty, staff, students, and management. Some memberships are by position, while others are by rotating assignment.


Below are the members of the Institutional Effectiveness Commission (IEC). Members by appointment serve for two (2) years & may be appointed to consecutive terms.

Ex officio (members by position) & non-voting members: 

  • Paul Jarrell, Provost & Executive Vice President
  • Richard Plott, Chief Strategy and Planning Officer

IEC Members:

  • Patrick Blaine, Dean of Curriculum, Assessment, & Grants Development
  • Francette Cocanour, Medical Assistant, Union President, Health Clinic, LCCEF
  • Amber Coleman, President, LCC Student Government Association
  • Mindie Dieu, Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Matt Fadich, Bursar & Interim Financial Aid Director
  • Jennifer Frei, Associate Vice President, Arts & Sciences
  • Nikki Gavin, Math Faculty & Division Faculty Coordinator, Science, Math, Engineering
  • Jenn Kepka, Academic Technology faculty, Guided Pathways core team
  • Grant Matthews, Associate Vice President, Career Technical Education & Workforce Development
  • Gary Mort, Chemistry Faculty
  • Bliss Newton, Project Coordinator, Student Affairs
  • Buck Potter, Maintenance Worker, Facilities, Management & Planning
  • Anna Scott, Project Coordinator, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness
  • Mike Sims, Project Coordinator, Academic & Student Affairs
  • Tammie Stark, Project Manager, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness, IEC Chair
  • Gina Szabady, Writing & Literature Faculty, Accreditation Technical Writer
  • Cathy Thomas, Institutional Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness
  • Randy Ware, Faculty Assessment Coordinator
  • (vacant) Faculty Council appointee pending