Innovation of the Year

Lane's Innovations of the Year

League for Innovation logoEvery year the League for Innovation honors outstanding innovations that have been recognized by member institutions as Innovations of the Year. These innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded.

 The criteria used to select the Innovation of the Year are:

  1. Effectiveness
  2. Efficiency
  3. Affordability
  4. Replicability
  5. Creativity

Lane's Innovation of the Year Award is selected every Winter Term by a committee that consists of a volunteer pool of previous award recipients, LCC Foundation staff and Board members and Lane's League Representative. In the event that none of the nominations are deemed to be of a caliber of nationwide recognition, no award will be made for that academic year. 

Nominations for this year's Lane Innovation of the Year Awards are due by February 28, 2020. Everyone is encouraged to participate. Review the Selection Criteria and Submission Instructions. Let others know by posting and sharing this flyer in your department and with your colleagues.

Lane Innovation of the Year Winners:


  • Thomas Blickle, Tanya Brathwaite, Holly Buckem, Bradley Christopher, Tawnya Gillespie, Colby Kilcullen, Elizabeth Novicky, Monica Rosencrance, Paula Tomczak, and Darrah Wolfe for “Innovative Clinical Experiences to Prepare and Retain Nurses in Rural Oregon”.
  • Lori Areford, Josh Baker, Judy Boozer, Jennifer Falzerano, Tia Gomez Zeller, LuAnne Johnson, Tomomi Kurosaki, Christopher Rehn, and Colby Sheldon for “A Truly International Business Degree: Global Degree Completion Lane Community College and Rennes School of Business”.
  • Meredith Keene, Josh Manders, Skye Nguyen, and Kevin Steeves for “Improving Course Accessibility Through Graphic Indicators, Checklists, and Focused Training”.
  • Nicky Coffey, Georgia Harter, Chloe Hendrickson, Andrew Johnson, and Briley Pull for “ Strengthening the Online Presence of Media Arts”.
  • Linda Ackers, Amy Burbee, Linda Crook, and Egan Riordon for “Library and Automotive Team Up to Reduce Costs and Increase Access to Service Information”.
  • Barbara Barlow Powers, Matt Danskine, Brian Kelly, Cathy Nolan, Bill Schuetz, and Jen Steele for “Project Management Office (PMO)”.
  • Shelby Allread, Shannon Ball, Rachel Kim, and Leilani Perez for “Google to the Rescue! Leveraging G Suite to create powerful, centralized, and up-to-date information and resource hubs for staff and faculty”.
  • Tina Hunter and Gee Thomas for “Welcome Center”.


  •  Aliscia Niles, Julie Pfaff, Mira Mason-Reader, Patricia Singleton, Deidre Lyons, Jessica Donohue, Rosa Lopez, Marcia Koenig, Jennifer Ferro, Jillian Schmidt, Gina Szabady, Susan Reddoor, Victoria Webb, Mary Louise White, Beth Landy, Anna Tapia-Gates, Casey Reid, Tammy Walters, Amy Sanderson, Beth Pfeiffer, Tina Hunter, Guest Instructors, Community Guest Speakers, and Peer Presenters for “ABSE College Ready Cohort: Onramp to Student Success”
  •  Brooke Taylor, Gary Mort, and Todd Stuhr for “Using Micropipets to Improve Results and Further Reduce Waste in the Small-Scale Kinetics Lab in General Chemistry”
  • Casey Reid, Stacey Zinniker, and Eugene Public Library Librarians for “Talk Time: A Collaboration Between the Lane Writing Center and Eugene Public Library”
  •  Cybele Higgins, Casey Reid, Tracy Henninger, and Karen Krumrey for “ESL to Credit Bridge Program: Accelerating ESL Students to Credit Level”
  •  Kevin Steeves, Meredith Keene, and Jennifer Kepka for “LaneOnline Course Development with OSCQR (Open SUNY Course Quality Review)”
  •  Rosie Kirwin, Jeanne McLaughlin, Stacey Kiser, Susie Holmes, Paul Ruscher, and Stephen Clarke for “Outdoor Taphonomy Research Facility”
  •  Solomon Singer, Sean Parrish, Stephen Caffey, and James Babson for “The use of Manufacturing, 3D-Printing, and other Integrative Technologies as a Project-Based Learning Method for Teaching Drone Technology”


  • Stacey Kiser, Claudia Owen, Ce Rosenow, Susie Holmes, Christine Andrews, Paul Ruscher, Rosie Kirwin, and Barbara Dumbleton for "Underground Research Fair".
  • Michael Levick and Alen Bahret for "Dynamic Student Workshop List".