Institutional Effectiveness Commission

The Institutional Effectiveness Commission engages the campus community in understanding of mission fulfillment and institutional indicators; assesses the effectiveness of the College’s planning, improvement, and assessment systems and structures; evaluates progress toward mission fulfillment; and provides information and recommendations to the campus and community.

The IEC accomplishes this work by reviewing and providing recommendations about sponsored workflows/initiatives in these areas:

  • Accreditation
  • Assessment
  • Data governance
  • Key performance indicators
  • Process improvement
  • Program effectiveness, management, and review
  • Other duties as assigned by the sponsor

The Institutional Effectiveness Commission is sponsored by the Provost and Executive Vice President, and the Chief Strategy and Planning Officer. Committee membership is composed of representatives from all areas of the college: faculty, staff, students, and management. Some memberships are by position, while others are by rotating assignment.


Below are the members of the Institutional Effectiveness Commission (IEC). Members by appointment serve for two (2) years & may be appointed to consecutive terms.

Ex officio (members by position) & non-voting members: 

  • Paul Jarrell, Provost & Executive Vice President
  • Richard Plott, Chief Strategy and Planning Officer

IEC Members:

  • Patrick Blaine, Dean of Curriculum, Assessment, & Grants Development
  • Sam Ramberg, Information Technology, LCCEF
  • Student representative (vacant), LCC Student Government Association
    • Mindie Dieu, Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
    • Matt Fadich, Bursar
    • Jennifer Frei, Associate Vice President, Arts & Sciences and Guided Pathways
    • Nikki Gavin, Math Faculty, Science, Math, Engineering
    • Grant Matthews, Associate Vice President, Career Technical Education & Workforce Development
    • Gary Mort, Chemistry Faculty
    • Bliss Newton, Project Coordinator, Student Affairs
    • Buck Potter, Maintenance Worker, Facilities, Management & Planning
    • Edgar Rosas Alquicira, Biology Instructor and Guided Pathways
    • Jennifer Sacklin, Instructional Designer; Career Pathways Faculty
    • Vacant, Planning and Institutional Effectiveness (PIE) Appointee
    • Mike Sims, Project Coordinator, Arts & Sciences and Guided Pathways
    • Tammie Stark, Project Manager, PIE, IEC Chair
    • Gina Szabady, Writing & Literature Faculty, Writing Program Faculty Coordinator
    • Cathy Thomas, Institutional Research, PIE
    • Randy Ware, Faculty Assessment Coordinator, Office of Curriculum and Assessment