Vehicle Regulations

Type: 
Procedure
Category: 
Miscellaneous
Department: 
Public Safety
Phone: 
(541) 463-5558
Primary Contact: 
Jace Smith
Contact Email: 
Responsible Executive Authority: 
Vice President, College Services
Purpose: 

This procedure describes the various types of parking available on the main campus, application process for special permits, responsibilities of the Public Safety officers, fines structure, and appeals process.

Narrative: 

Lane Community College does not assume responsibility for any motor vehicle, or its contents, parked or operated on college property.

Motor Vehicle Regulations

The Lane Community College Board of Education has exercised its authority to adopt traffic and parking regulations under Oregon Revised Statute 341.300. All current Oregon traffic laws apply on campus.  In addition, college specific regulations may be posted.  Public Safety officers have full authority as peace officers in enforcing traffic regulations on campus.

Persons operating motor vehicles on campus must meet Oregon State licensure and insurance requirements.

Maximum speed on all college roadways and adjacent roads is 20 MPH.  Maximum speed in parking lots may not exceed 15 mph.

Parking

Parking is permitted in designated parking spaces only.  All legal parking spaces are defined by yellow space marking. Responsibility for locating a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator.

General Parking is available in all lots and is on a first come/first served basis.

Disabled Parking spaces are available in lots A, B, C, D, E, L, N, and between Buildings 7 & 9.  All persons with State-issued Disabled permits may use these spaces.  Valid permits must be displayed. 

Special Permit Parking has been designated in many of the parking lots on campus.  To apply for a special permit for a specific area, contact the Public Safety office.  The Public Safety office or the responsible college department issues permits for restricted areas.

Vendor/Trades Parking: The Public Safety office issues permits to vendors and trades persons on the 30th Ave. campus.

Loading and Unloading: The Public Safety office issues permits to persons for loading/unloading required college related materials.

Overnight Parking is allowed only by special arrangement with Public Safety.

Traffic Enforcement

Traffic Stops: When observing a moving violation the Public Safety officer will conduct a traffic stop.  Persons attempting to elude the Public Safety officer may be stopped by another Law Enforcement agency, subject to arrest, and or referred for further internal procedures and processes. When Public Safety officers are unable to identify the operator of the vehicle the citation shall be served on the registered owner.

Parking Violations: Parking tickets will be placed on windshields.  Parking citations are the responsibility of the registered owner.  Instructions for clearing and appealing citations are printed on the back of the citations.  Citations may only be appealed for 10 days after issue date.  When Public Safety officers are unable to identify the operator of the vehicle the citation shall be served on the registered owner.

Parking Violations*:FirstSecondThirdThird +
Parking in any posted handicapped space without a valid permit, or failure to display permit.

$120

$240$360$360 + Referral
Parked in covered area by the Center Building$25$50$100$100 + Referral
 Parked in a fire lane
*Note: Vehicle may be towed and towing fees will attach.

$40

$80$160

$160 + Referral

Parked overtime in any time limited space$20$50$100$100 + Referral

 Parked next to a yellow curb across a yellow line

$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Parked on a sidewalk or in a pedestrian area$20$50$100$100 + Referral
 Partially or completely blocking another vehicle, street, or driveway*
*Note: Vehicle may be towed and towing fees will attach.
$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Parked in a manner that takes up two spaces

$20

$50$100$100 + Referral
Blocking or restricting a building entrance$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Parked on any area not designated as a parking lot or roadway$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Parked in a posted special permit or restricted parking area$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Parked overtime in a time limited space$20$50$100$100 + Referral
 Parked over 72 hours on campus (Abandoned-Unauthorized Over Night)
*Note: Vehicle may be towed and towing fees will attach.
$20$50$100

 $100 +

Parked blocking the Motorcycle Course in Lot N when scheduled for use $20
Plus
towing
fees
 $50
Tow Vendor Charges
 $100
Tow Vendor Charges
 $100 +
Tow Vendor Charges

Officers may also issue a UTC (Uniform Traffic Citation) for violations.  The bail for these citations is commensurate with the current Lane County fine structure or the City of Eugene fine structure (depending on the jurisdiction of the violation).  These citations are typically issued on Lane County roadways and in selected locations in downtown Eugene, Oregon.

Note:  Tow Vendor Charges are any and all costs designated by a third party Towing Company including (but not limited to) vehicle movement to alleviate issue, storage fees, and impound towing.

Moving Violations:FirstSecondThirdThird +
Driving while suspended or without insurance$30$50$100Tow Vendor Charges if applicable
Traffic Crimes$30$50$100$100 + referral
Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Failure to stop at a stop sign$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Driving on the wrong side of the street$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Improper turn or lane change$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Driving on areas not designated for driving$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Excessive Noise$30$50$100$100 + Referral
Reckless Driving$30$50$100

$100 + Referral

 

Miscellaneous Violations:

FirstSecondThirdThird +
Tobacco* (No Appeal)$25$50$100$100
Bicycle/Skateboard in Prohibited Areas$20$50$100 $100

Property Impound

Other Non-Vehicle Violations$20$50$100$100 + Referral
Vehicle Violations Not Listed Here$20$50$100$100 + Tow Vendor Charges if applicable

Towing

Vehicles parked and/or left unattended in a location that impedes traffic or fulfills one of the following conditions, may be towed to an off-campus location, at owner expense:

  • Restricts pedestrian and wheelchair routes,
  • Blocks or partially blocks a service drive, fire lane, or roadway,
  • Blocks the instructional motorcycle driving course in parking lot N, or
  • Has been abandoned for five days.

Vehicles left on campus more than 72 hours may be towed unless prior arrangements are made with Public Safety.  Vehicles blocking the Motorcycle Course in Lot N will be towed to an available spot in that lot.

Appeals

Traffic citations may be appealed to the Citation Hearings Committee using the process printed on the back of the ticket.

Appeals of Orders to Appear are handled per the Student Conduct Code.

Date Adopted: 
Saturday, May 1, 1999
Date Last Reviewed: 
Tuesday, July 16, 2013