Filehost

Filehost

What is it?

Filehost is a Lane specific file syncing and sharing service, running on an application called OwnCloud. It is a service very similar to Dropbox, you could almost call it a clone. OwnCloud is an open source application that we manage ourselves, on our own hardware.

OwnCloud's sync apps keep your files synced across almost any device you have, Mac, Windows, Android, or iOS. To manage sharing files, and single file uploads, there is a web interface accessible from any modern browser.

Who can use it?

Any active Lane Community College employee with an L-Number can use Filehost.

Details about the service

Filehost log in screen

Log in information:

  • Log into Filehost
  • Username: Your myLane/Moodle L-Number
  • Password: Your myLane/Moodle password

Other information:

  • How much you can store: 10GB
  • If you need more storage, contact the ATC.
  • If you had more than that in your current Media Server account, your space should already have been expanded.
  • Filehost internally saves deleted files for a time. Don't rely on it, though.
  • Backups are completed daily and stored for 14 days. If you need something restored that is not in your deleted files section, contact the ATC with the path to your file, and your L-Number.

How could you use it?


Filehost share dialog

  • Share a folder with contents from a project between everyone who is working on that project.
  • Embed an image, mp3, or video in a Moodle course.
  • Share a password protected directory with your students.
  • Keep your Lane related projects synced between your home computer and your work computer, all without involving third party services like Dropbox or Google.

Usage Guidelines

Resources at Lane are not infinite. No matter how much we try to make them so. Thus, we ask that you only store college related files on Filehost. Please do not store personal music, pictures, books, etc.

We'd also ask that you make sure to share all your files with appropriate people. In the event you are unable to work, we don't want essential files trapped in your account when your backup person needs them.

Resources