The Parnell Years

Lane Community College: The Parnell Years

Welcome to an exhibit about Lane Community College and its first president, Dale Parnell, 1965-1968. The exhibit features photographs, documents, and text from Lane Community College: The Parnell Years which tells the story of the founding of the college and its formative years under Dale Parnell.Large Image of Book Cover

The monograph was written by Larry Romine, former director of Institutional Advancement and member of the Board of Education, 1997-present.

Table of Contents

Part One: Laying the Groundwork, 1959-1964

Part Two: The Parnell Presidency, 1965-1968

Dale Parnell, President

Dale Parnell was educated at Willamette University (B.A., 1951) and at the University of Oregon (M.Ed., 1956, D.Ed., 1964) and served as principal of Springfield High School and superintendent of Lane Intermediate Education District.Dale Parnell

He was instrumental in founding Lane Community College and served as its first president from 1965-1968. He was appointed Oregon Superintendent of Public Instruction in 1968 by Governor Tom McCall. In 1974 he became chancellor of San Diego Community College and in 1976 he became president of San Joaquin Delta Community College. He was president of the American Association of Community College from 1981-1991, followed by a year as Oregon's community college commissioner. 

He helped establish the Western Center for Community College Development at Oregon State University in 1992 where he taught before retiring in 1997. Since then he has been a visiting professor at the University of South Florida in Tampa. His many publications include the book, The Neglected Majority, published in 1985.


Lane Community College: The Parnell Years was:

  • written by Larry Romine
  • copyrighted by Lane Community College, 1998
  • published by Lane Community College Institutional Advancement
  • printed by Lane Community College Printing/Graphics
  • designed by Neil Isaacson

With special thanks to: Gary Anderson, Joan Aschim, Diane Dann, Richard Gorsuch, Trish Hamer, Shirley Nagy, Ram Rattan, Michael Ridderbusch, and Elizabeth Uhlig.

The online exhibit was designed by Elizabeth Uhlig. The exhibit text was excerpted from the publication written by Larry Romine and edited and abridged by Elizabeth Uhlig for this web page.